top of page

BEING HELEN - Homage to Helen Martins, creator of The Owl House in Nieu-Bethesda.

This was a heartfelt project dedicated to an amazing lady whose life story touched my being. I was compelled to create and a series of conceptual self-portraits were born. There was no overall plan and the whole process was very organic, letting my heart lead me. I had the priviledge to visit Miss Helen's Owl House in June 2016 where I took several images. There are many opinions about her and her house, that she was weird, mad, creepy and even during my visit, I could hear other visitors utter these perceptions. I saw a different side and wanted to express the way I perceived her life. She was simply misunderstood and way beyond her time. She was a genius, an artist, a person who had a hard life and only wanted to be loved and excepted. It just happened that 2016 was the year that marked 40 years since she passed away and this project is in memory of her, beautiful Helen Martins. Fly high Miss Helen. xxx

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page